Lectures and Exams and Essays, Oh My!

Posted: January 25, 2012 in University
Tags: , , ,

So at university, apparently you have these things called lectures – who knew?!

For 9 weeks, from September til… (checks calendar) November, we had all sorts of lectures, some of which were useful, some…not so much! For those of you reading this who are on the course with me – you know who you are, and you know which lectures I mean!

We then had the wonders of OSCE’s… If you haven’t done any sort of medical training, you’ll have been spared the nightmare of OSCE’s, or Objective Structured Clinical Examinations (basically, practical exams), but they are either skill based or scenario based, and apparently videoed, and we had to prove that we could inject a plastic buttock with water, do a manual blood pressure (which I have yet to see done ‘on the road’), do a basic set of observations, stab someone’s finger to do a blood glucose test (didn’t actually stab a finger, just talked it through), demonstrate how to manage an airway, and show that we can lift things… Oh joy. Luckily for me, and unluckily for my future patients, I passed! Though more on them later…

Oh, and during all this – the wonders of assignments and essays. All of which, I am pleased to say, I have passed (though still waiting for the marks for one last essay I submitted just before Christmas…so maybe not).

And then out on placement, being driven very fast, powersliding round roundabouts at 2 in the morning, going about 90mph or so. Muchly fun, and highly recommended – for those who have blue lights on their cars! Hopefully I’ll be doing my emergency driving course in the summer and so will be let loose on blue lights in September time…watch out!

Comments
  1. JR says:

    Congratulations on the results so far. Good luck for the rest, not that it sounds like you will need it.

    The driving sounds like good fun. Do you get permission to do it wearing ill-fitting Levis, a curly wig and yelling, “Poweeeeeeeeeeeeeeer” when driving quickly?

    Hope the course keeps going well and looking forward to further updates.

    JR

    • neenawmedic says:

      Thank you, and I hope I do ok…not too worried about the rest still to come, but the one I’m waiting for could be touch and go…
      Unfortunately not, but I am still hoping to be able to do it in a ’69 Dodge Charger, orange, with 01 painted on the side! Oh, and still with blue lights on the roof, obviously!!
      There are plenty of updates planned over the next few months, so keep reading!

  2. JR says:

    Good choice! I think there’s a case to make to your service to get a few as truly RAPID response vehicles. With some non-textbook manoeuvres you could get there before the incident happened!

    JR

    • neenawmedic says:

      See now that’s going down the lines of a completely different type of vehicle with a blue flashing light on top…and it doesnt carry paramedics, just a Doctor! :p Though that would be a brilliant ambulance…

  3. […] Just a quick note, for those of you who read my post about my first semester… […]

  4. […] Just a quick note, for those of you who read my post about my first semester… […]

  5. lucymedic says:

    I only ever do manual blood pressures!

    Not fair!

    šŸ™‚

    • neenawmedic says:

      Fancy coming up this way and telling our paras that they should then? I’ve asked a few why, and the answer is always “I don’t know how” or “the machine is more accurate” or “it’s quicker”… All of which I dispute… Meh. Off to night shift now! x

      • lucymedic says:

        i think its because I’m on a car usually so we don’t take the machine in.

        ‘I don’t know’ is an awful excuse! and manual is more acurate lol

        Have fun on your night! x

  6. Buffy says:

    Isn’t there a manual BP cuff in the ambulance?
    On my first placement we were with a patient and my mentor not so subtly made me use the manual one! I was about to get it from the machine and my mentor got his manual one out the kit bag, put it in front of me and informed me there was one in the little pouch! I ended up using it most of the time after that!

    I’m glad you’re enjoying your course and learning lots of stuff! I hope you keep getting good grades! =)

Leave a Reply

